Skip to content

Mild Brew

June 18, 2011

While I’ve got a pretty fine Pale Ale, and I had been craving pale ales, I find myself craving more malt-focused beers now.  To prevent myself from raiding my aging reserves too much (Doppelbock, Stout, even my high-alcohol ESB), I decided to make something malty – and ale – to get my fix relatively soon.

Recipe

BeerSmith Recipe / Brewsheet

Pre-Brew

Not wanting to pay for yeast when I had perfectly good American Ale yeast (Wyeast 1056) from my Pale Ale, I decided to make this English beer with an American Yeast.

Kegging (6/30/11)

I tried a new method of a (mostly) closed transfer.  I connected my auto-siphon to my keg-to-bottle setup (quick disconnect, hose, cobra tap) and ran it in through the keg’s ‘OUT’ post.  After sanitizing, I ran some CO2 through the ‘OUT’ post with the vent open to hopefully purge the keg of oxygen.  Then I sealed it up, hooked the auto-siphon/keg-to-bottle contraption up to it and started siphoning with the vent open.  It worked out pretty well.  I even put some chopsticks on either side of the auto-siphon with a rubber band to keep it at the height I wanted to prevent getting trub.  The end result was a pretty hands-off, mostly closed, oxygen protected transfer from the carboy to the keg.  Now this isn’t a beer I expect to save for a long time, so it’s probably not going to be much benefit for me now, but it gives me a chance to try a new technique and hopefully I can be adept at it in the future when I am dealing with a beer that I want to take good care of.

Also, I performed yeast washing per the instructions in this thread.  I’d gotten kind of bad at collecting and washing yeast lately and this seemed like a good approach.  I bought some lids for the Mason jars we already had (I ended up with 2 pint jars and 1 quart jar).  It worked out pretty well, although I think I got a little too much gunk from the bottom.  I’m really not sure how to pour 1 quart carefully out of a 6-gallon glass carboy.  Also, this yeast bed looked kind of grungy.  We’ll see how it turns out.  I think when I go to use it, I should definitely do a starter and maybe do it well enough in advance that I can go buy new yeast if necessary.  It does look nice in the fridge, but after seeing it in the carboy, I’m concerned.  It reminds me of my Brown Ale.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From → Ale, All-Grain, Brews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

