Skip to content

10-Gallon Mash-Lauter Tun

July 13, 2011

With the new brewstand and all, getting a larger MLT has been on my mind.  I happened to search Craigslist for a deal and came across a brand new 10 gallon Igloo cooler for cheap, so I bought it.  Now I want to make a proper manifold for lautering.  I went through a couple ideas:  one with a round manifold similar to Palmer’s one at top here, another one like the square one below, and I drew up plans for each.  Realizing that the round one would be difficult, I had decided on the square, but just before I left to pick up the parts, I was reminded of a design that made an octagon out of CPVC pipe (I can’t for the life of me find the post now, but it’s on HomeBrewTalk.com).  So, I drew up some plans for it real quick in my high-tech OpenOffice Draw and this is the result so far:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m going to try to connect it to the nipple inside the cooler by tapping the CPVC coupler on the end.  I’ll probably need to shorten the tube going to it and possibly apply some heat to get it to bend so it’s flush, but I think it should be workable.

Also from this post on HomeBrewTalk.com, I figured I could set up a similar sparge manifold in the lid to allow for even distribution of the sparge water during fly sparging.  His tube seems to be too large, though.  At the low flow rates I have for fly sparging, I would think it would just trickle out the middle tubing and never really make a proper shower.  So, when I make mine, I’m going to try using something smaller (like 1/4″), but that’s for another day:  once I’m comfortable with my mash manifold.

From → Equipment

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

