Skip to content

Saving Wort for Priming

June 18, 2012

I generally have a good bit of leftover wort once I run off into the carboy (at the very least ~1.25 gallons that sits below the coupling).  Add to that the fact that I had to get a refill of CO2 after using it for just one batch (a leak, of course) and I wanted to see if I could use this extra wort for priming instead of force carbonating.

Below are some quick calculations that I’d like to revisit sometime when I have time, but for now don’t want to lose what work I have done.

Corn Sugar 0.19375 lbs. (3.1 oz. for ~2.0 volumes in 5 gal.) 45 PPG 8.71875 GU (lbs * PPG)
Wort (1.054) 0.611186 liters 54 GU/gal. 8.71875 GU (liters * gal/liter * GU/gal)

Update (1/7/13)

I’ve learned this saved wort is referred to as gyle (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/wiki/index.php/Krausening) and I’ve been collecting it from my brews for the last several and using it to help carbonate.  I’m generally too anxious to get to drinking to let it fully carbonate, but I was able to leave my second keg of the “Best Laid Plans” stout to sit over a Christmas trip (almost 2 weeks).  Upon return, I threw it in the keezer and hooked it up to CO2.  Carbonation was a little on the low side, but definitely drinkable (the style doesn’t need too much).

The procedure I use is to fill a sanitized plastic “chinese takeout” soup container with wort (usually after finishing runoff to the kegs) for each 5 gallons and throw it in the freezer until ready for use.  I generally don’t keep my beer around too long, so I’m not too paranoid about any contamination.  I don’t expect there to be much with fully boiled and hopped wort in a sanitized container in the freezer for a month or more, but with the cheapness of the container, I don’t fully trust it either.  If I’m going to use this method for a beer I’d like to eventually bottle from the keg and save for an extended period of time, I think I’d reboil the wort prior to putting it in the keg.

All in all, it’s probably not saving me too much CO2, but I’d say it’s worthwhile since I already have the excess and it’s easy to incorporate (I use about 1 qt. of gyle for a 5 gallon keg).

From → Misc

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

