Skip to content

Crankandstein Mill & Hopper

September 23, 2012

Thanks to my wonderful family, I am now the proud owner of a Crankandstein 2S as of my most recent birthday.  I’m sure they would have sprung for a higher end model and had it equipped with a base and hopper, but I told them a 2S would be more than enough and that I could build a base and hopper pretty easily.  Time will tell whether the 2S will really cut it (I think it will) but I can report that making the base and hopper wasn’t too bad.

Thanks to instructions found at Dave’s Brewing Website, I was able to make a decent base and hopper pretty inexpensively.  Unfortunately, I don’t have much in the way of power tools, so most of it was done with a handsaw.  Fortunately, my neighbor offered use of his jigsaw after seeing me struggle for a while, so I was able to properly cut the angled tops and bottoms of the straight sides of the hopper and the housing for the mill (pictures below).  It’s pretty amazing how much easier it is when you have power tools.

While there are still some rough edges – literally – it’s plenty functional and can hold me over until I happen to get my hands on the proper power tools to remake it.

As you might be able to see, I made the hopper with the Crankandstein 3’s dimensions, so it hangs over the edge of my 2S.  I don’t expect it to be a problem, though and it lets me accommodate more grain.  I also didn’t get to making the base circular, so I can’t use the bucket’s handle, but I think I can work around it.

All in all, I’m excited to be able to be free of the club’s grain mill duties.  While I’m very grateful it was an option for me, acquiring it and passing it on to the next guy were hassles (though well worth it).

From → Equipment

2 Comments
  1. Max Franey permalink

    I’m so glad that we got together to get this for you.

  2. BarbFraney permalink

    It looks great Sean. Your Dad’s motto: You can never have enough (power) tools and there is always a (specialty) tool that can make things easier. Thus his impressive collection of tools:)

Leave a Reply

