Skip to content

Oatmeal Stout Brew

November 2, 2012

Gonna brew a cold weather beer (a few weeks later than I initially hoped).  I was going to go with a standard recipe, but found out that using Munich Malt might not be too crazy.  So I’ll be using the “Best Laid Plans” recipe from this post:  http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f68/best-laid-plans-oatmeal-stout-56876/.

Recipe

BeerSmith Recipe / Brewsheet

Brew Day (11/4/12)

  • Conditioned the malt prior to milling to avoid long lauter
  • Still had very slow lauter.  Removing jerry-rigged 3/8″-to-1/2″-to-3/8″ silicone tubing from MLT to kettle resulted in faster flow => I think the problem is mainly patchwork tubing, not milling.  So I guess I need to get a new continuous length of 3/8″ silicone tubing (damn squirrels started this problem).
  • Freezing propane led to less vigorous boil and stopping after ~53 minutes

Fermentation

  • One carboy in rubbermaid with aquarium heater
  • One carboy in living room wrapped in “electric root heating propagation mat”, towel, and pullover
  • Living room carboy keeping better temperature.  Who knew?
  • Good airlock activity by the next afternoon (maybe morning, even)
  • Significant slowdown after <2 days

Evaluation

Without getting into specifics – because I really haven’t drank it too critically – this is a pretty good stout.  Nothing announces to me that it has a significant portion of Munich Malt in it (though I’d be interested to see if I could notice it in a careful evaluation).  I can’t say that I’m as impressed with it as I was my previous Oatmeal Stout, but it’s a good drinking beer.

From → Ale, All-Grain, Brews

Leave a Reply

