Skip to content

Brown Porter Fall 2013

October 12, 2013

Time to brew a dark beer heading into the cooler months so I’m revisiting porters.  It’s been quite a while, but I’m looking forward to it.  Like I mentioned after my last brew (an ESB), I’m going to continue to emphasize maltiness by skewing the Chloride to Sulfate ratio in favor of Chlorides.  Unlike the ESB, I’m going to accomplish this through the addition of CaCl2 in the mash.  Since this is a dark beer, I don’t need to do the pre-treating to remove alkalinity (the dark malts can handle that) so I won’t have that opportunity to add the CaCl2.  I don’t expect the timing of CaCl2 to have an effect.

Recipe

BeerSmith Recipe / Brewsheet

Brew Day (11/22/13)

Smooth brew day.  Started a little after noon and was able to leave the chilled wort to settle in the kettle a little after 3:00.  Ran off to 2 better bottles by ~4:00 and pitched ~1000 mL each from a 2L starter from a smack pack produced in mid-October at ~6:00.

Added 8 g CaCl2 at beginning of mash.  Ran off using long (~5 ft?) silicone tube to brew kettle with the valve effectively throttling flow (in contrast to previous recent brews which have had little flow even at full open).  Forgot to add 1.5 oz Kent Goldings at flameout.  Instead, I remembered at ~100 F in the cooldown and added what was left from one Goldings pack after adding the 0.28 oz. at 60 minutes (so 0.72 oz).  Gravity came in a little low, but still at the high end of the style (considering I was going out of the style range in the recipe).

Fermentation

One fermentor in the Rubbermaid with water and fish tank heater.  Kept at 69° for the first 3 days until activity slowed, then bumped up to 71 and agitated.

Second fermentor in empty keezer with root heating propagation mat (since the room stays <62° most days now that it’s cold outside) controlled by Ranco set to 68°.  Bumped up to 70° after first 3 days (same time as the first fermentor) and agitated to rouse the yeast again.

Sample after 5 days:  1.023.  Transferred one fermentor to a keg (the one in the keezer with the root heater).  Being low on CO2 and entering Thanksgiving weekend, I was watching precious CO2 bubbles escape through the airlock and thought I should capture it.  I had heard of German brewers stoppering up their barrels during primary fermentation to carbonate during Reinheitsgebot – apparently known as spunding – so that’s what I did.  I don’t think I’m likely to get too much carbonation being this close to the end of primary fermentation, but every bit helps.  Plus, it’s actually pretty tasty at 70° and not carbonated, so I think I’ll just use it as my beer source for now.  I’m keeping the root heater on it for now, for at least a few more days to get some more attenuation.  Another plus with the kegging is that it will be easy to pull a sample now.

From → Ale, All-Grain, Brews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

